Home.

Home is a word that brings with it a plethora of emotions, memories, and images. You tend to get used to a given set of images, sounds, and sights that makes you believe that you are ‘at home’.

When that set is assaulted by a whole new set of experiences, you tend to feel a little lost. The climate is different, the food tastes very funny, and the language is alien. You meet new people and the gather new experiences – all of this happens too quickly, and before you know it, you are overwhelmed by it.

But, we humans are such great fighters. We learn to evolve so beautifully and quickly, that oftentimes the end result can be incredible.

Here I am, 2370 Kilometres away from my home, in a city entirely alien to me, in a flat with two guys from two different cities. Yet, I am at home. We have our own house rules, our own in-house jokes, and our favourite topics for discussions.

This, for me, is the triumph of the human spirit. We find a way, we find a home; sooner rather than later. We build new experiences, and feelings that make us feel ‘at home’ again.

 I’ve found a ‘stand-in’ home for a month, but it doesn’t mean that I don’t miss my real home, the blue mountains and the red river, and more than anything, I miss my people. For now, this ‘stand-in’ home makes me feel a little less lonely.

19 comments on “Home.

  1. Mitali Das says:

    Very well written…

  2. soumyav says:

    Good to hear from you Subh! Best wishes and hope you find wonderful things around to cherish your memories there…

  3. Be prepared to welcome a weekend guest to your ‘stand-in’ home. 🙂
    I’ve got my tickets booked. 🙂 🙂

  4. Beechmount says:

    Uni bene ibi patria–the old Latin expression still holds true.. Lots of luck to you Subh

    Grandpa

  5. simplyMohit says:

    Someone’s back to his virtual home……..welcome back 🙂

  6. Jessica says:

    Really, really, really glad to hear from you… It’s good to get out and see new things. To experience different places and new challenges. Yes, you will miss “home,” but, if you’re lucky, you will discover that more than one place can feel like home. And your city will always be there, waiting for you…

    I agree with the above: really well written, Subh.

  7. Rachna says:

    Hi Subh! It’s really nice to hear from you ….Whatever you have mentioned in your post is so true and I can really relate to your experience.

  8. I’m really glad that you could relate to what I’ve written 🙂

  9. Rambler says:

    I am still searching for a place called home. I hope you find one soon 🙂

  10. Dagny says:

    Human resilience and adaptability is truly wonderful. We manage to build comforting familiarity in the most alien environs… 🙂

  11. Monika Amita Bakshi says:

    A sad story told in a beautiful manner – as usual!

  12. Monika Amita Bakshi says:

    oops…commented on a wrong post. was posting on Paul’s story. 😦 sorry.

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

