Not a mirage.

It wasn’t a mirage. My hopes were not broken. Your good wishes have helped me.
Thanks.
So, no more suspense.

Maybe, you’ll find that the actual thing behind all this “build-up” is not that big. But, please understand that, for me, it means the world right now. It is the single drop that has somehow managed to rehydrate an entire desert.

I am not unemployed anymore. I am now a journalist for a new and upcoming news cum social media website. I shall soon be leaving for my training. I’m really psyched about this.

It is an incredible feeling – to have a job even before you’ve cleared your final exams. I’m indebted to my soon-to-be employers for seeing the potential in me to help their product perform well.

I shall be reporting for the North-Eastern part of India – a conflict and insurgency prone area. The compensation is more than good and finally I’ll be valued for what I am – a writer with an opinion on everything.

I have always heard that those people are fortunate who have their passions as their dayjobs and suddenly I realize, I’m one of them. I still have to pinch myself. It hasn’t yet sunk in.

When I wrote a post called, “Yes! Dreams do come true!” for my best friend whose armed forces dream has come true, I recieved a lot of flak for writing feel good, Disney material articles.

I have an opinion about this. There is so much negativity and depression in this world that many people even don’t bother to dream. Many live in areas where dreams are a luxury. So, when, along with my socially conscious articles, I also churn out feel good, but real life stories, it is those people who I want to reach. Or any depressed soul, for that matter.

Because SUCCESS matters! You won’t appreciate that if you haven’t had failure. One reason why I value this job so dearly is because I have had a lean patch for 6 years.

This is more of an update than a blog post but I also wish to give a final message or two, through this.

DREAM – both with your eyes open and closed and then work your backside off. Also, a special word to those who use the blogform questionably – One of the reasons why I got this job is my blog.

Even a simple blog matters. All the more reason to treat this medium with the due respect it truly deserves. I’ve always tried to suggest that through my posts that the blogform is a fantastic medium.

It pays to give it your best. You never know who’s reading.
Once again, thanks to all my friends on wordpress and elsewhere. Keep writing.

I wouldn’t be posting for two weeks. There’s a hell of a lot to be sorted out. Bye 🙂

27 comments on “Not a mirage.

  1. Deepika says:

    This is great!!
    Cheers to an awesome start 🙂

  2. My heartiest to congratulations to you 🙂

    I think the time has come for me to write a post titled “Yes, Dreams come true!” I hope you remember that.
    🙂 🙂 🙂

    So happy for you Subh. You’ll rock wherever you go. Wish you all the very best. 🙂

  3. soumyav says:

    All the best Subh! And may you succeed in every bit of life! 🙂

  4. greenembers says:

    Congratulations, that is so awesome!

  5. Beechmount says:

    Hi Subh
    Congrats are in order,–I hope this will become the beginning of the writing career you desire. Any plans to use your degree in math?

    Grandpa

    • Thanks Grandpa 🙂 That maths degree will just be a witness to the three years in which I worked my bachside off in return for nothing and it shall serve as a harsh reminder of the consequences of foolish choices.

      • Beechmount says:

        Dear Subh,

        It does seem to be a bit of a waste for you to have studied for years, to get a degree that you will not applying in practice. There is some consolation though,–you will be very ovequalified to put two and two together and get the right answer in your writing career. I’m sure at some point in your life, you will find your math degree to be a usefull skill to have in your toolbox of knowledge. My thoughts and best wishes for you will always be there.

        Grandpa

      • I’m so glad to have you 🙂

  6. lgyslaine says:

    this is marvellous, congratulations to you! 🙂

  7. lindaghill says:

    Wonderful – congratulations! 😀
    And thank you for the advice, I will take it to heart 🙂

  8. pseudomonaz says:

    I told you my prayers are working!!! Congrats..A journalist, that’s wonderful. 🙂
    I know how you feel right now. But I am still waiting for my dreams do come true post.Good luck to you. 🙂

    • Mona, when I read your post about the GATE entrance, I had no idea that I’d be writing a smiliar one so soon. Feels great 🙂 . Your dream come true post will come, and I’m sure, it’ll be bigger and better than mine 🙂 good wishes.

  9. Trisha Dey says:

    Oh my god! Congratulations 🙂 I can easily imagine your right now! May you grow by leaps and bounds and have a successful life ahead! 🙂

  10. Rambler says:

    They say do for a living what you love, and you wont have to work for even a single day. Godspeed !! Having read you a bit, I have a tiny voice at the back of my head yelling – “This is just the beginning !!”

  11. Jessica says:

    Yay! So glad to hear it, Subh. (Actually, I already knew… But it’s taken me a little while to get to reading about it here. So sorry!) You’re going to great. I have a question, though… In journalism here you’re supposed to be unbiased. So, even if you have an opinion, you’re supposed to try to keep your opinions out of your articles. Now, of course that isn’t always easy to do, and many reporters don’t succeed, but… Are you encouraged to put your personal opinion into articles there?

    In any event, you’re very right—everything you do matters, and this blog has been awesome! I’m so glad you started it. Good luck on your exams, and when you start training for the new job!

  12. […] was psyched the moment I saw the title of his post announcing this good news – “Not a mirage“. I didn’t have to read. I knew what his post was all […]

  13. Rachna says:

    Hi Subh! Got to know this wonderful news frm Allwins blog. Heartiest congratulation to you for your achievement. I wish u success, happiness and fame for coming life. Live your dream….tk cr.

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

