Mirage?

It is not everyday in life that you find yourself standing at crossroads.
It is not everyday in life when the phone call you’re eagerly waiting for can change your life forever.

This is amazing. One phone call. Never had I imagined that one phone call would be so important.

Have you had only failures and disappointments in your life for six long years? Then, out of nowhere, there appears this one opportunity that can make it all work.

You give it your best shot and then, it all boils down to that one final phone call that’ll decide your fate.

I stand at such a crossroad today, my friends. I wish I could’ve divulged more but I can’t.
I want to pray but I risk looking superficial and selfish.

I don’t want to run to the Lord in my hour of need and forget him for the rest of the days. I’ll either be religious or a non believer. No half measures for me.

I just hope that my ability shines through and fetches me what I desire so fervently. I have never harmed anybody. I’ve been good. So, like a superstitious little boy, I want my good karma to fetch me good luck.

It is time to count my blessings and hope that the best possible result happens. I could urge you to pray for me but I don’t want to hijack your prayer.

Just send your good wishes my way, friends. I’ve seen sand and only sand for miles.
Now in the distance I see some water and cool shade.

I hope it’s not a mirage.

P.S. : I swear I wanted to share this with you but I’ve made a pact with myself that I’ll share this only if that phone call generates a good result for me. I am sorry.

21 comments on “Mirage?

  1. lindaghill says:

    All my best wishes to you! 🙂

  2. Beechmount says:

    You must enjoy keeping you readers on pins and needles. I hope you get what you want-but don’t close the door on life if the first phone call don’t measure up. There will be more of them in your life and perhaps some or one of them will alter your life again. Se la vie mon ami.-Que sera, sera.

    Grandpa

    • Dear Grandpa, I do not enjoy the suspense either 🙂 . But there’s no choice. I won’t close the door on life if this doesn’t turn out to be the life changer I’m counting it to be. Thanks for reminding.

  3. Jessica says:

    Crossing my fingers for you… I have an English tidbit for you, too, but think I’ll save that for later.

    And it’s okay to be “superstitious.” It’s okay to look to the sky and utter a prayer in hope. Even if you’re not sure anyone’s listening. Even if you’re not sure you believe in anyone yourself.

    • Dear Jess, I thought I won’t pray. But I found myself folding hands unmindfully and fervently wishing that this measures up well. Strange people, we are!

      Please share the English tip you had. The more I learn, the better it is 🙂

      • Jessica says:

        Okay, here goes. “Every day” should be two words unless it is used as an adjective. Here are two examples showing the difference:

        I went to the gym every day.

        vs.

        Going to the gym was an everyday activity.

        Do you see the difference? In the first, every day really is two words. In the second, it is used to describe “activity,” so the words are combined to form a compound word.

        Practically everyone makes this mistake, including native speakers here. So don’t feel bad! But it drives English majors like me crazy. 😉

      • So subtle! Yet so essential. Does it also apply for ‘someday’?

  4. gita4elamats says:

    GOOD LUCK! 🙂

  5. pseudomonaz says:

    Good luck…I know how this feels exactly. I am definitely gonna pray for you, apparently God is listening to my prayers these days. 🙂

  6. Monika Amita Bakshi says:

    You will make it!

  7. There is a LOT of love and good wishes being sent to you here. 🙂 🙂
    I just can’t wait…

  8. Trisha Dey says:

    Hey just be positive! All the best! 🙂

  9. 🙂 I’m trying my best . Good to see you again.

  10. SimplyMohit says:

    Best of luck Dada….. 🙂

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

