Why can’t we all just get along?

In February 2002, when Gujarat burned, I was a sixth grader.
Phrases like “Godhra train carnage” and “State sponsored massacre” are my faint remembrances from 2002.

Time passed by. I moved on from the sixth to other grades. I never made any attempt to learn more about Gujarat.

Cut to 2013 – I am sitting in a movie theatre watching the movie “Kai Po Che” – a movie based on the backdrop of Gujarat riots.

The blood-bath and rioting scenes are upsetting. There are many views about the movie.

Some reviewers say that the Gujarat riots were reduced in the movie.
The direct involvement of the State was not explicitly shown.

If you search the net, you’ll get countless myths and counter-myths regarding the riots. The most depressing story of the riots is that a pregnant lady’s womb was torn apart and her baby was killed just because she belonged to a particular religion.

It is very hard to know the absolute truth.

I’ve been thinking about writing a post on this for many days. But it is not easy. I am not qualified enough to comment on the riots. I was not present there. I cannot say for sure who was responsible.

But, what upsets me the most, is how easy it is to polarise people in India in the name of religion.

You don’t have to look too far. Look in the comments section of various facebook pages of News Networks. You’ll find verbal riots going on between people.

What does it matter if someone is a Hindu or a Muslim? Facts are facts. History is history. That cannot be changed. Just because someone states the truth about Kashmir or Gujarat, why is he singled out and abused in the name of religion?

Just because someone is born a Hindu it doesn’t make Muslims a natural enemy for him. This is not our war.

Fighting in the name of a God, whose existence alone is debatable is the worst possible form of foolishness.

Why can’t we all just get along? It’s much simpler. But then again, I’m an idealist.

13 comments on “Why can’t we all just get along?

  1. greenembers says:

    Yeah, that would be nice. I wish we all could get along too. So much hate in the world. 😦

  2. rambler says:

    The truth comes in shades of grey – never as black or white. It is a not easy to break the cycle of revenge and hate. Ban the news channels, the political parties and gag the mainstream media – peace will prevail, even if at the cost of truth.

  3. wilsonkhoo says:

    Firstly, I’m not going to be politically correct, I’m just going to say what’s on my mind, because I believe that’s what you want.

    You already answered your own question in your last sentence. You understand you are looking at it from a limited perspective, yours. Other people have theirs.

    You grew up in a world where you are free to express your own views, have access to technology and information that most can only dream off. You are also free to look at it from a logical perspective since you were never subject to such violence, and possibly you’re not a religious person.

    Now try looking at it from their perspective. Religion has been my way of life for the past 30 years, has been my family’s thinking for the past 100 or more years. And now you are trying to tell me I am wrong and you are right?

    Sure violence might not be the way to solve things. But given that I’m a poor down-trodden citizen in a corrupt system where money talks and the bureaucracy and their cronies are all their own kind. What choice do I have?

    By simply asking me to ‘get-along’ is asking me to accept the status quo. No one in the bottom 10%-30% will accept that. And it is wrong for you to ask them to accept that. And they will answer in the only means they have. Violence

    The above is true in any society, 1st to 3rd world. And unfortunately, you are preaching to the choir here since well, I sitting in front of a computer typing in a comfortable room, with no one to impede on my free speech and views. I believe that puts me in the top 3% of this world.

    • Your logic is undeniable. You’re right.

      • wilsonkhoo says:

        Woah, cheer up dude. My view of it if kinda pessimistic / realist, but the world needs the idealists like you to enact change.

        Just saying you’ll be better off on a platform where you reach the real people inside of a bunch of young hippies on the Internet making opinionated comments with no regard for perspective.

      • You’re right. I’ve been told before too that I need to and I can work with the grass roots. Social activism thingie. The grass roots are the places where real change occurs. How many people really have access to technology? Rightly said.

  4. soumyav says:

    Thoughts like such always disturb and leave us more helpless and agitated,when we see the brutal truth of humans as such in name of religion,caste or any base. For mere politics and power ,everything has changed and is biased. I do remember the times when this incident happened and at any cost a massacre of humans anywhere is never be right,correct or justified.

  5. If only getting along was that easy. If only.

    We lose innocent lives to madness. Hatred and vengeance is almost the immediate and natural response. Hatred completely blinds us. Instead of putting an end to it. We go on and on.

    Will this ever end? Only time will tell.

  6. rumpydog says:

    I often ask the same question. Then the kid that speeds past me and gives me the finger angers me. And I remember why.

  7. Jessica says:

    I’m an idealist, too. I hate the way people use religion… You can’t help the family you were born into…

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

