When a blogger dies. . .

I’ve been mulling over this thought for the past few days. What happens when a blogger dies? What happens to the blog?

The saddest thing is a blogger might be dead for months before his readers and other bloggers get to know. Or, worse still, they might never come to know.

“I wonder why he doesn’t post any more” will be one common thought that people will have when his posts stop coming. But, the world moves on.

Soon, people will get busy and forget all about him. Scary, if you ask me.
More scary, is the thought that the blog shall remain un-updated for ever!

They say a person dies three times. One, when he actually dies. Two, when his body turns to dust. Three, when his name is mentioned for the last time.

The third kind of death is pretty sad, I think. Man likes to make a great fuss about his name. To think that his name shall never be mentioned again is very heart-breaking.

But, can a blog be passed on to the next generation, like property? Of course, a great deal depends on if the next generation wants it.

If they do, it can be an exciting venture. Blogs will have a great legacy. Once a year, on the original blogger’s death anniversary, they can re-blog one of his earlier posts from when he was alive. Sounds wonderful!

It’d be a great way of staying alive, if you ask me! People die, blogs live on!

15 comments on “When a blogger dies. . .

  1. lindaghill says:

    ‘Tis better to have blogged and lost than to never have blogged at all. I think Tennyson said that.

    But seriously, think of all the people that would never have known us in the first place had we not had the blogs. And no one is going to get into your blog after you die unless you give them the password.

  2. greenembers says:

    There is a service I believe, where when you die it will update all your social media. Can’t remember what it is called, I’ll google it later tonight.

  3. Jessica says:

    I’ve thought about that, too. Sometimes I have these crazy thoughts about getting hit on the road while I’m on my bike. What would happen to my blog, I wonder. And then I realize that my password is on my computer. Pretty sure I’d just ask my dad (ahead of time, of course) to write something so readers would know… Haha. Good question!

  4. soumyav says:

    WordPress has the provision of passing the whole content to your family,once the person is’t anymore,but there are rules and moreover,the blog should be identified .,no unnamed,pseudo faked ones.

  5. Rachna says:

    Very interesting post Subh πŸ™‚ this shows how passionate you are about your blog. You are very much attached to blog and its so close to your heart.

  6. Why this thought when your birthday is just round the corner? πŸ™‚

  7. Don’t know πŸ™‚ . The human mind works in mysterious ways.

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

