Happy Birthday!

It’s midnight in Nova Scotia, Halifax, Canada and it is the most appropriate time to wish a very happy and memorable birthday to Grandpa Beechmount. He turns 75 today.

He is pretty well know to readers who visit my blog. The concern he shows for social issues of a foreign nation, India, is commendable. I wish some of our Indian bloggers had the same concern and tenacity.

It’s been two/three months since I stumbled upon his blog through a mutual blogger friend, Clara Waibel.

He showed a great deal of interest in my writing, reading of 5/6 posts at a time. He used the “Load more posts” button very wisely and even read through posts that I had written a long while back.

He commented on one of my blogs saying that he had advice to give me on my writing. I got in touch. Mails were exchanged. He soon became my instructor in English writing.

He took great pains to send me edited versions of my posts shortly after my publishing them.
Of course, I didn’t change the published version, but I noted the points down in my diary.

It’s not everyday that you find someone who takes so much interest in you and your writing and wants you to improve. In a way, I’m very fortunate to have him.

This is how he’d give a short introduction about himself :

I retired 17 years ago from a lifelong love affair with my job as a geologist. I worked in many countries in Latin America, Asia, Africa and Europe and speak several languages.

I love writing essays and short stories and from time to time dabble in a bit of poetry, although some may disagree with that designation.

Geology, archaeology, paleontology and paleoanthropology remain subjects of immense interest to me.

Although I have lived in several provinces and been in them all, I prefer to live in Nova Scotia, which has a fairly mild climate, good for gardening and blessed with wonderful seashores, beaches, woods, farms and scenic small villages.

Halifax and Dartmouth are both vibrant cities where one can enjoy all the trimmings that comes with a city of 400 thousand inhabitants.

Life is an open book, filled with excitement and adventure. Writing on this blog is a means for me to share ideas and information as well as publishing a bit of writing and poetry.

Translating Latin American short stories from Spanish to English may be a help to many students of Spanish and has so far proven to be very popular, some translations receiving thousands of hits. Feel free to use these translations, but please quote the source and comment on them if you feel like it.
http://beachmount.wordpress.com/?ref=spelling

4 comments on “Happy Birthday!

  1. soumyav says:

    a wonderful note of wishing hima gr8 birthday! many wishes to him and so sweet of you to post about it here!

  2. Rachna says:

    Wishing him happiness on this special day.

  3. Wish you a Many Many Many Many Happy returns of the day Dhaadhu… 🙂

    I hope you don’t mind calling me you Dhaadhu. We in India call Grandpa as Dhaadhu affectionately. 🙂

    Grandson

  4. Beechmount says:

    Heartfelt thanks to all of you for your kind wishes. I had a very nice, somewhat intimate birthday party, together with two other people-my wife and a very dear friend.

    Thanks again
    Grandpa

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

