On Love.

I want to write about love. But I wish to do so without sounding too mushy or sentimental. I do that too often.

They say it’s the Indian way of writing that causes us to see things through rose-coloured glasses. But, I shall try to be as real as possible.

It is that time of the year again when Marketing moguls make the most moolah – Valentine’s Day is just round the corner. I don’t know if St. Valentine would be happy with the way we celebrate the day.

But, it is popular culture. There are legends, songs, rules regarding the Day. They say it is about finding true love. I love that concept. True love – I don’t know if that is a real entity.

Venturing into my personal life, I’ve been love starved. I’ve wanted to be loved, I’ve wanted to taken away by a love so strong, so passionate that I’d just surrender.

I’ve always been this way – sentimental. Brash on the exterior yet so vulnerable on the inside. This quest for love had led me to three different persons. Not simultaneously.

But then, rejection, rejection, rejection. I’ve been told that I’m not good enough, thrice. It is the worst feeling and I’d never do that to anyone, ever.

I just couldn’t figure out what was going wrong every time. My friend used to tell me that I have this charm that makes them adore me. Or fall for me.

But, certainly it needs more than that to make it last. I was still trying to figure out what I was lacking. It was then that I met her on facebook.

She was no stranger. I’ve known this girl for the better part of my 22 year old life and I’ve lived within a kilometre’s radius of her.

She was my junior in school. Beautiful, artistically gifted, and outspoken. I don’t remember having spoken to her in school.

So, old acquaintances met on facebook. Then, came the time to meet in real life. It was too fast. But I let it happen.
We met.

The little girl with two piggy tails had now metamorphed into a full grown lady, graceful and so beautiful. What bit me was her unconventional take on things. She was so different from the assembly line girls.

She had a mind of her own and boy, was she outspoken!
That same day, she fell for me. (She told me this later).

She said that the man in me took her breath away and erased all images of that adolescent boy. I was wearing blue, my favourite colour and Old Spice, to smell good. It is my personal favorite.

It happened!
No fireworks. No kissing. No rain.
Something on the inside changed, forever, for the better.

Days later, she professed her love for me.
I was overjoyed. Frankly, to this date, I think I got more than I deserved.

There’s something interesting when one falls in love with someone from their past.

Our times spent together were featured with peals of laughter. She made me imitate every teacher from school, every actor. She made me sing and crack stupid jokes.

They say when one is in love, it is easier to make the beloved laugh. I’ve experienced it. I can make her laugh easily.

Getting to know her from scratch was the best thing. There are so many pre conceived notions that we carry we judge someone by their face.

I found out that inside, she was so different from I what I had expected.

She lost her father as a child. So she is a tad pampered and sentimental. But I try my best to be there for every whim, every bad day or mood swing.

It is a wonderful feeling. We shall complete a year of togetherness this April.
I’m no love guru, but I can assure you if you have love in your world, the rough patches smooth out, the nights become shorter, and your head spins a little. Love is a wonderful feeling.

Make room for love!

This entry was posted in My take.

25 comments on “On Love.

  1. soumyav says:

    πŸ™‚ so glad to be a part of your life Subh! Its good seeing you express your emotions for love and of love. It is truly a wonderful gift which can only be felt not seen.

  2. lgyslaine says:

    Love is a marvellous gift on this life πŸ™‚

  3. greenembers says:

    Reblogged this on Green Embers and commented:
    I liked this. A feel good story. πŸ™‚

  4. greenembers says:

    This is such a sweet story. Going to reblog.

  5. Deepika says:

    Great !!
    Good luck to both of you πŸ™‚

  6. Elizabeth Ayers says:

    So sweet! I can definitely relate to this. Am totally reblogging for this week’s batch of posts. πŸ˜€

  7. Thanks a bunch, Elizabeth πŸ™‚

  8. Jessica says:

    I’m glad you’ve found love, Subh. Your girlfriend sounds like someone I’d like. πŸ™‚

  9. Rachna says:

    Love is a wonderful feeling…..it brings happiness and joy in life. Thank for sharing your story πŸ™‚

  10. It was totally a pleasure πŸ™‚

  11. Mitali Das says:

    Thank you baby. I really thank you for loving me, thank you for being der wid me, thank you for sum of the lvly moments, that we both hve shared nd i thnk you for makng me feel special :-). Love u lots :-).

  12. You are such a gem Subh. You deserve her awesome love and she deserves yours. πŸ™‚
    You guys make such an adorable couple. πŸ™‚
    So happy for both of you!!

  13. Monika Amita Bakshi says:

    Beautifully written. Bless!!

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

