All about followers.

The first thing by which a website or a blog is judged is the number of followers or people who’ve signed up for updates.
It is an indicator of it’s online popularity.

But, does it have any qualitative implications? Or, are these just numbers?
There are a lot of tips doing the rounds that are supposed to increase the number of your followers.

One common wisdom is to follow as many people as you can and hope that they follow back. If you follow a 100 people, you can atleast hope for 50 follow backs.

Another piece of advice is to like posts on incredibly popular blogs. It is like putting your poster up in a very big party. You hope that someone clicks on your gravatar – reaches your profile on gravatar.com, where you’ve provided the link to your blog – and then finally reaches your blog – reads – follows.
Phew!

Today, I’m here to challenge that conventional wisdom. Say, you follow a hundred sites. When are you going to find the time to engage with them, read their work and build relations?

So , all you’ll get is a follow and probably, never hear back from the person. What good is that? Where is the quality in that?

One of the few things a blog should look to develop is meaningful dialogue. That happens when you have a close knit community that reads, critique’s your work and stays.

One of the few difficulties I faced with the numbers going on my blog was replying to comments. Taste of a little popularity!
To be honest, my blog has only developed in the last two months.

I was a relatively obscure blogger before that. But, everything’s changed in the last two months. I’m very satisfied with what I have now.

I’d like to believe that I’ve a close knit solid group of bloggers who read and critique my work. I don’t follow a lot of blogs, say about 35 sites. So it is not hard work to read their work.

This is much better than insanely large number of followers and following them too, but not getting the time to read their work.

However having said that, I know that as the articles grow and the writing gets better, the number of followers will, too. I’m committed to ensure that I read those people’s work who I follow.

Just as I like writing blogs, I also enjoy reading blogs – a wide variety of genres. I’ll continue to do so.

So, all I’m saying is that having a large number of followers is okay, but one must also try to build qualitative following. One must build communities.

So, what makes me write about this today? Well, the number of people who follow my blog has reached 100, two days back.
I’m not hugely excited.

Out of these 100 there are a maximum of 15 who are close knit and read my work regularly.

See what I meant about qualitative following?

This entry was posted in My take.

13 comments on “All about followers.

  1. Subhabrata – It’s bitter-sweet, isn’t it?

    For me as a nonfiction writer, it’s important to have a platform. The publishing houses want to know that an author has a wide brushstroke of influence. Part of that measurement is taken from their social media presence.

    I get up at 4:20 every morning to insure that I personally respond to each comment on my blog. And while I don’t have the time to always leave a comment on the blogs that I follow, I do, indeed, read each one, and click the “like” button to let the writer know I’ve been there and appreciate their work. Depending on what the post is about, I may also tweet and/or Google+ the post.

  2. lgyslaine says:

    I totally agree with your article. What good is it to follow many blogs if you have not able to read or watch the work. For my part, I chose quality over quantity.

  3. Beechmount says:

    You should always consider quality before quantity when it comes to followers. Collecting followers by the dozens or hundreds does not improve your skills as a writer, since many of them may be mere keepers of diaries, which is fine if that’s what they like to do. If you want to become a writer, choose to follow published writers, essayists, etc, depending on what type of writer you would like to become and learn from them. Writing on a blog, just for the sake of writing something-anything-whatever, is in my humble opinion a waste of time, both yours and the readers.
    Grandpa

  4. Jessica says:

    I’ve been thinking about blogs, too… When I first started blogging, I got really excited when a person “liked” one of my posts. To me, that meant something. That meant they’d read my post and really thought it was good. Now, I’m not so sure. Now I see people liking posts without actually reading every word. Maybe, as you mentioned, they’re just trying to make their own gravatar visible in the blogosphere…

    I’ve been guilty of the same, and I don’t like it.

    Quality is more important that quantity. It’s true. Every time.

  5. Rachna says:

    Again a very good post….quality vs quantity. Completely agree with you and as Jessica said….even I feel that if someone likes your post that doesn’t really mean they actually read every bit of your post. Merely to have more followers they click the like option. For me quality matters a lot and of course where my interest lie and i can actually connect to the topics. New to blogging but follow my heart …..not following for any other purpose. Nice post.

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

