On aging.

Of the many myths created by the cosmetic industry, one is that growing old or aging is a taboo and that it can be reversed by using certain of their anti aging products.

I must confess that I do not quite understand why people dread growing old.
Skin wrinkles, spots, dull skin etc. – do these really have to be our worst nightmares?

We all know that we are mortals. We will grow old. We will die.
Growing, as opposed to a process that should be enjoyed, is now a taboo.

This mentality does two things; two really bad things:

1. It makes the young consider the process of aging with fear.

2. It makes the elderly sorry about the fact that they are no longer young.

I’m all for Science. I’m all for progress. But when man thinks he can alter a natural process, he doesn’t even realise how silly he looks.

Here’s a simple fact : You can do whatever you can to prevent aging. Injections, surgery, creams, lotions, make up – but you will never succeed.
Also, I do not understand why ‘age’ only has a ‘physical’ connotation for some people.

You also grow and change mentally. Why is that often overlooked?

Isn’t that something to be proud of?
With age, you have more wisdom, experience, and a broader view of life.

Isn’t that a fact to be celebrated?
Does it not thrill you that once you have your golden years behind you, you can use your experience to guide the young
ones?

That is the best part about growing. The fact that you grow wiser.
Elderly people fascinate me. Those misty eyes behind the thick-rimmed glasses have seen so much that they are now a reservoir of wisdom.

Growing old is a natural process that is inevitable.
So, every time there’s an advertisement on TV that tries to create paranoia about the natural process of aging, remember that these are just businessmen trying to sell their products.

Aging is nothing to be ashamed of.

This entry was posted in My take.

20 comments on “On aging.

  1. gita4elamats says:

    A human being would certainly not grow to be seventy or eighty years old, if this longevity had no meaning for the human species.
    – Carl Jung

  2. gita4elamats says:

    Here’s another one: ‘Age is an issue of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.’
    – Mark Twain

  3. Thank you. You have a brilliant collection of quotations. Even on your blog, you post such wonderful and appropriate quotes. You’re doing a good job on your blog šŸ™‚

  4. Very mature and well written post Subh. šŸ™‚

    Sometimes your maturity amazes me. If only all of us could think alike.

    Having said that we have a problem with our high stress lifestyle and junk food addiction. Add smoking and drinking to that.

    Our granddads and grand moms – Were they so much worried about about aging? Certainly not.

    A 25 year old doesn’t like it these days. He/She looks much older and feels insecure among peers. Businessmen see this insecurity as an opportunity and exploit. You have these miracle products – Anti ageing creams, Oils that stimulate bald hair growth etc.

    Height of HEIGHTS!!! A product called Step up growth formula claims that drinking it on a regular basis would stimulate the release of growth hormone and increase the bone density thus increasing your height irrespective of what your age is. What the @#$%?

  5. Thanks Allwin šŸ™‚

    I’ve have seen the ‘step up’ advert. It’s hilarious :mrgreen:
    you are right. Stressful living and bad choices do have an impact. Also people nowadays have so many complexes. Someone has a height complex. Someone has a complexion complex. All these insecurities are exploited and people are made to say through their noses.

  6. Thanks a lot for the link! šŸ˜€

  7. Jessica says:

    An excellent point. I grew up in a household where my mother dreading getting older. This made me view aging in a certain negative light. I think no one wants to get old because getting old means facing our mortality–no one wants to die. It’s also true that a young body works a lot more easily than an old one… When I get depressed about the aging process, though, I remind myself that we all only have one life to live. Even though I am no longer a child, the children I see around me won’t always be children, either. Also, life is about stages and learning. While in some ways it’d be great to go back to my high school years, I wouldn’t want to have to relearn everything I’ve learned in the past ten years, either. And, unfortunately, there is no real “fountain of youth.”

    • Jessica, unfortunately, women are at the target end of this age-phobia generated by capitalists. Women as young as 30 are worrying themselves to death because they don’t look the same way they did when they were 20. They fear that the husband might wander away and look for ‘younger’ pastures. What happened to love, dedication, and the vows to be always together, in age or youth?

  8. I decided a few weeks ago (I’m 68) that we have it all wrong. Duh! Youth is not the purpose of life — being OLD is. That’s the goal, that’s the meaning, that’s the hope. When you start to be OLD, you can finally get with the program of being a real human being. Things like those idiotic capitalism-run-amuck commercials are simply avoidant–avoidant of reality. I hope you don’t mind if an old man expresses his opinion. Love your writing, by the way.

  9. Hello Harold. I’m glad that you decided that life’s purpose is to grow old. And mind you, 68 is not old! It’s all in the mind. Welcome to the blog šŸ™‚

  10. Monika Amita Bakshi says:

    What an excellent post! Enjoyed reading it.

    I have always enjoyed growing old. In the sense that I feel more experienced – eligible to guide the younger generation. šŸ™‚

    Interestingly, I have NEVER let my mind, my thoughts, or my ability to judge younger generation grow old. I am still in my early twenties (by heart) in that respect. šŸ™‚

    I am old – I am gold! :p

  11. Age, as they say, is all in the mind šŸ™‚
    Thanks for reading šŸ™‚

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

