HEY GIRLS, DID YOU KNOW “SLUT SHAMING” IS BULLYING? GO, BOOBIES, GO!

MarLa Sink Druzgal

I was disappointed to read about the recent trend called “Slut Shaming” in which women and girls cyber-bully other women and girls into what they consider “proper” dress, etiquette and behavior which they deem modest and appropriate.

Who decides what is “modest” or “appropriate” for another person?

Have you ever considered why you are offended by another woman’s dress? Why do you really care?

Slut-shaming says more about the type of person you are than the type of woman she is.

Oh I know plenty about slut shaming. I heard the word “whore” enough times from my own mother’s well meaning but shame-inducing pursed lips about women who dressed “promiscuously,” and even about me when I stepped outside those perceived boundaries of modesty. I still hear it spill from my own mouth sometimes.

But when I stop and consider why I’m thinking that way, it usually narrows down to one…

View original post 794 more words

One comment on “

  1. gita4elamats says:

    This is a good, assertive post!

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

