Father tells the media Damini’s real name.

I do think this is historical. For the first time in Indian history we are looking at a rape victim’s father saying,
“We want the world to know her real name.

“My daughter didn’t do anything wrong, she died while protecting herself.

“I am proud of her. Revealing her name will give courage to other women who have survived these attacks. They will find strength from my daughter.” [Brave dad Badri, 53, told The Sunday People : http://www.mirror.co.uk/all-about/the%20 ]

India gang rape victim’s father: I want the world to know my daughter’s name.
And he is not ashamed to be her father.

If there ever was an opportunity or a real hope to change the way Indian culture and society looks at sexual assaults, I think, it is now.

If there ever was a time to take ‘shame’ away from sexual assaults, this is that time.

Updated to add. Found this link:
The newspapers and media are covering, for the first time, what a violent crime does to the victim (or survivor) and their family. For the first time a rape victim and her family is being shown as real people with feelings, lives, aspirations… as one of us.

“Recalling the night of horror, Badri said: “When I first saw her she was in the bed with her eyes closed. I put my hand on her forehead and called her name. She slowly opened her eyes and started crying and said she was in pain. I held my tears. I told her not to worry, have strength and everything will be all right.”

“She cried a lot, she was in a lot of pain. And as soon as she saw her mother and brothers she cried again. But was a courageous girl, even trying to console us and giveus hope that everything will be all right,” said Badri in the rare interview.” [Want world to know his daughter was Delhi braveheart: Father]

Written by : An Indian Homemaker (http://indianhomemaker.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/jyoti-singh-pandey-delhi-bus-gang-rape-victims-name/)

2 comments on “Father tells the media Damini’s real name.

  1. soumyav says:

    A historical and courageous moment!

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

