How did you discover writing?

If you have a blog on WordPress or anywhere else, chances are high that you love writing.
But, was it always like that?

Were you a born writer, or, did you consciously take up writing at some point in time?

Are there born writers at all?

I am quite fascinated by this activity called writing. Nobody forces you to write. Yet, one fine morning, you just pick up the pen and decide to write.

The best thing is that you don’t have to work hard to call yourself a writer.
You just have to write.

The funny thing is everyone writes – emails, SMS’s, exams, facebook updates, little notes etc.
But only a bunch of us get to call ourselves writers, because we are more regular in writing, a bit more organized, and maybe a tad less ruffled by criticism.

Before I start digressing, I’ll return to the main topic.
The question is –
“How did you discover writing?”.

I’m sure there’s an interesting story behind every writer(or blogger?). So in this post I shall share my story about discovering writing.

Please feel free to share your stories in the form of comments.

MY STORY :

I discovered writing via song-writing. You see, there was a time when I was an 18-year old. Not too long ago.

I wanted to be a musician, then – a singer.
And I was very inspired by the singer-songwriter breed. There was, and still is, a particular Bangla rock band, whose music I like.

Back then, I tried to emulate the band’s frontman, who wrote all the lyrics for their songs.
So, at first, I set out to write songs. Not in English, though, but in my mother tongue – Bangla.

I wrote a few songs too. Soon, I realised that my Bangla vocabulary was not strong enough. And when few common words began to appear across all the songs, I figured it was time to stop writing in Bangla.

I started writing lyrics in Hindi, a language I’m comfortable with. I wrote a few songs again.
This went on for some time. Two years later, when I joined a band as lead singer/lyricist, one of my old compositions was used for the band. People liked my writing.

That was the first sign that maybe I was good at this stuff.

But, like all good things, the band didn’t last. Music vanished from my life.
I stopped writing songs. Meanwhile, my English Professor kept telling me that I write prose quite well.

Also, I started winning prizes in English short story writing etc. in College fests.
Inside, I knew that I wrote well.

But, a piece of the zigsaw puzzle was still missing. I didn’t have a strong reason to start writing actively.

It was then, that I realised that I am an opinionated person. I’m an angry person. I have an opinion on everything. I was/am critical of most of the things around me.

It was then, that I discovered the ‘social activist’ side of me. I had too many opinions and nobody had the time to listen.

And, I believe that was what lead to birth of this blog. The choice of English as the medium was obvious, as English is my first language.

As of the discovery of writing, I always knew that I could write.
But, it is on this blog that I’m discovering my strengths and limitations.
I’m trying my hand at different kinds of writing. Maybe, one day I’ll settle down with a certain form.

Till then, I’ll keep discovering more about what kind of a writer I am. On a daily basis. So this was my story. Hope you did not doze off in the middle. Did you?

Please don’t forget to share your story in the comments. I believe the stories will trigger an enlightening, healthy discussion.

14 comments on “How did you discover writing?

  1. Subh’

    I have much to say-but no time right now. I’ll get back to your subject with comments-perhaps tomorrow.

    Cheers
    Kenny

  2. RAMU DAS says:

    In agony I do write. On being misunderstood I write. I write because I feel happy when I do. The list can go on and on. I believe in the empirical law of nature. Anything can be learnt, the only thing is that you have to will to learn. You need the determination to learn. And when you have it, writing is no big deal.

    • Very well said. The most important thing is the will.

    • Beechmount says:

      well, the saying is:”It’s not rocket science” but when you think about it- even that is an aquired skill. There are, however, times when natural talents for doing certain things bring about a better expert in a particular field than one that has to learn everything by the book. Writing is expressing something with words and this is an aquired skill that we all learn in our schools, but to take writing up to an artistic level does require some natural talents, for now you are painting a scene with words. Think about poetry, for example. Not every person will make a good poet-yours truly included, but some just simply have this inner voice-this inner spirit- these emotions that makes great poets. Determination just won’t quite cut the mustard in some fields, especially the arts. You can learn to paint, dance, act, but you may never become great at it if you lack the naturaql talent for it.

      Enough said, before I put my foot in my big mouth.
      Cheers.

  3. jesscy says:

    As I child, I loved to read. My mother called me a “bookworm”: I always had a book in my hands. Naturally, then, in about the third grade, I began to write stories of my own based on characters I’d been reading about. The stories were simple and short. I never got very far. But that foundation set me up for writing for life . . . Words just made sense to me. And I loved them.

    (I do, however, disagree with the above statement if you have the will to learn to write, then writing is no big deal. Even for really great writers, writing can be a lot of work. It depends on what you’re writing about.)

    • You started writing at third grade?
      Awesome!

    • Beechmount says:

      My sister was a book worm from the word go and I hated her for it. She was three years older than me, and we took turns cooking our breakfast before going to school when we were children. In winter time, that was porridge (OAT MEAL) and she would often read a book while she stirred in the porridge, until that is, she reached some exiting passage, at which point she stopped stirring—result–burnt-on oat meal for breakfast, which tasted horrible. I loved my sister dearly-except when she was reading while cooking breakfast.

      I very much agree with your last statement, and I’m not even a great writer.

  4. Sarah says:

    I learned to read at a young age, and even before then I loved nothing more than to listen to people read to me. Because of this, I learned to write young. I’ve always loved it, and I honestly don’t remember when I first started. I do remember when I realized my passion was in writing, but that’s another story.

  5. As a kid I would tear papers from my notebook and write about silly things that mattered to me at that point of time. I would complain that I did not get to bat or bowl while playing cricket match with the older folks or bask in the glory of hitting a six against a rival team.

    I grew up and I started writing diary to beat loneliness and boredom. I still find a lot of silly stuffs written in my diary when I re-read it. I can’t help but chuckle.

    Blogging is a different experience altogether. You always have to be conscious of your readers. I started blogging to share one of my friend’s childhood experiences. It was pure rush for excitement from there. I am glad that I am still a part of the blogger’s world.

    I hope my comment made some sense and it did answer your question. Did it?

    Please… Please… Please say YES! πŸ˜€

  6. Trisha Dey says:

    Well I always had a peculiar sort of fascination for diaries since a very young age. Diaries of all sorts and shapes fascinated me. They still do so! πŸ™‚ I simply loved to collect them perhaps, back then i was too young to realize my inner urge to write inside them. When I was in 3rd or 4th standard, I started writing Hindi songs in my diary. I also used to cut pictures and stick them, write facts of G.K. and write all sorts of unimportant stuffs in my diary. It was during that time that I had just started getting trained in Indian Classical Music and as every kid does, I somehow imagined that I would become a singer when I grow up. I infact still have those 2 diaries with me with more than 100 written Hindi bollywood / non bollywood songs. When I grew up a bit more, I found writing songs quite boring as well as a wastage of time. So I took a shift to recording life events in my diary. During 7th-8th standard, I used to write every important incident that happened in my life but that was done occasionally.
    It was during the 10th standard that I started writing diary on an everyday basis perhaps because it is that time when everyday in life comes with a surprise and amazement. I even wrote a few poems in Hindi and English at that time as I was always comfortable with these two languages more than Bengali. Friends, family, teachers had all told me that I could express myself quite well through writing. Eventually priorities began to change and I realized that everyday can’t be a surprise for you and writing diary for all the useless matters tend to make you tired… Two years since that day, I didn’t write… I thought it was high time to focus on studies and career. Although I had completed my degree in Music by the end of 9th standard, I somehow wasn’t willing to chose an uncertain career in Music and surprisingly had also developed a keen interest towards management and finally decided to pursue it as a career option. But somewhere I had always terribly missed my first best friends, my best companions…my diary and my pen!
    Then one fine day, I realized that I had so much to write, to express, that I wanted myself and opinions to be heard (or seen) and I ended up creating my first own blog! It was a great feeling of accomplishment especially when our dearest Monika Ma’am praised my writing. It was indeed a very special day for me as a writer! Now I can identify myself as a more organised writer and write on everything that touch my heart. I am learning a lot and am simply loving it! My blog is now my electronic diary! πŸ™‚
    Interestingly, my father is also an amazing writer and has a superb vocabulary in Bengali but wasn’t able to carry it forward and even my grandfather used to write about his hunting adventures in his diary. Sitting right in the middle of a forest or a deserted guest house during those old days before independence, he has recorded some amazing experiences (both natural as well as supernatural) in his diary. I guess might be it was hereditary in my case ! πŸ™‚
    That was my story Subh! Sorry I know it was lengthy and boring but I still wanted to share! πŸ™‚

    And for you, Just keep up the good work!! As I have always said, you are a superbly talented writer! God Bless! πŸ™‚

  7. Interesting! I’m so glad that you took the time to share your story. Keep writing πŸ™‚

  8. Beechmount says:

    Writing dairys was a habit of mine from a very early age and I still do, although now I call them “journals”. |I frankly admit to laughing my head off when I read some you the diarys I wrote in my pre-teen and early teenage years–yes, I still have most of them, but some day, I’ll commit them to the fire place to give them a decent end to their life.

    Writing was a talent that I had from a very early age and I obtained high marks in school for essays, reports and the likes. I never really thought much about it until later in life, when I had to write highly technical reports, often a couple of hundred pages covering research I had done. It was then that writing became important to me and I found I had some kind of talent for it. Now that I’m old and have a life to look back upon, I treasure the memories I have and try to write some stories based on them. It is a means for me to keep them alive.

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

