An apology and half a blogpost.

I’ve had a revelation.

I believed that I was the most ‘perfect host’ that a blog could ever have.
I felt I was mature and could handle criticism and appreciation with equal grace.

I was proven wrong today.

This blogger totally lost his cool this morning. He could not tackle a counter-view and ended up creating a mess.

If you wish to know the exact thing, please check the comments on the previous blogpost. (The taxi-drivers of Guwahati).

I apologise. Sincerely.

Never before have I reacted in such a childish manner. I’ve had comments that have called ‘sexist’. ( on the post “Will you marry a raped girl?”).

Even then I was able to maintain composure and poise. Not today.

I’m still trying to figure out what went wrong. I read this comment in question the first thing in the morning. That’s not a great way to start a morning.

Perhaps that. Or maybe something else is bothering me inside.

I’m still trying to know why.

Meanwhile, I thought I’d leave you with some useful tips on how to tackle criticism on the web. (Yeah! I know you’re thinking, “Practise what you preach”).

But this is as much a post for you, as it is a reminder for me. Hope it’s useful :

1. Don’t reply immediately.

2. Read the comment(s) a few times and analyse.

3. Thank the person first of all for his comment.

4. If there’s any clarification needed, first clarify in a friendly tone.

5. While replying, don’t take it too personally. It’s just a blogpost and not the end of the world.

6.Make your point and stop. Don’t go for more explanation than needed.

7.Finally, while writing a post and replying to comments it’s wise to remember that not everyone will subscribe to the same view.

Please add any other useful tips you have in your comments.

I’ll try to be a better blogger.

2 comments on “An apology and half a blogpost.

  1. Oh dear, Subh! I’m so sorry you felt you had to write this. I think you took this to heart far more than I did, but I only put that down to age and nothing more. As you get older your skin gets thicker and what used to rankle with you for hours, days even, becomes less relevant. Still, this is your blog and I should respect that.

    I’ve been blogging for a very long time now (ten years next year!) and I’ve invited my fair share of criticism, opposing comments and sometimes just downright nasty abuse, all from grown people. That’s the nature of blogging.

    I think you’ve hit the nail on the head with your advice. Not replying immediately is great advice. Put the kettle on and have a cup of tea at the very least. Sometimes I sleep on it. Often I don’t even reply, that’s the best way of responding sometimes. Otherwise if you do engage, try to keep the dialogue objective, even if the blog post itself is personal.

    If you get a moment, go check out Eric Kim. He’s a famous photographer who has become famous through his blog. He has a massive following (22,000+ likes on Facebook) but receives some of the most spiteful, hateful comments I have ever read outside of youtube (youtube is just awful and populated by angry five year olds). It got to him so much he wrote a blog post on how to deal with haters. Not quite the same as my provocative responses, but he’s had to deal with his fair share of crap. He’s still smiling though. Check it out here: http://erickimphotography.com/blog/2012/03/how-to-deal-with-haters-on-the-internet/

    Please don’t be put off blogging what you like blogging about. Long may your blog continue!

    (BTW – that link you sent to the other Indian blogger. Great stuff, really enjoyed his article on observing people at the train station.)

  2. Yes I took it to heart. As I said I’m learning. And this was a learning curve. Thanks for the link. Eric’s post was helpful.

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

