A letter to my readers

Dear all,
Maybe this is your first visit here. Or probably you’ve have been here before.

I want to talk to you for a moment.
I also need your help.

The last few days have been overwhelming for me. Traffic to the blog spiked. Number of followers, likes, and comments increased.

My brother, friends, and my blogging guru called me up to congratulate me. They said my writing had ‘matured’.

I don’t know if that’s true. I’m not here to brag. I want to get to the point quickly without further wasting your time.

I’m moved. You see I am a small town guy. I still consider myself young. I’m 22. I’ve been writing for a little more than a year. I’m new.

And this exponential increase in ‘everything’ thrills me.
Frightens me.
Places great responsiblity on my shoulders.

When I didn’t have readers, I didn’t care much about what I wrote. Today I do.
I feel responsible for what I write. I also feel a little proud.

So, with this letter, I promise to write to the best of my ability.
To write often.
To be passionate.

A word for Jamie Furlong, a friend and reader – I’m sorry I’m not able to write the kind of article you want right now. But I’ll be back with them (post April 2013). Thank you for your patience.

Gratitude to Mitali, my girlfriend, for helping me out with her support.

To all those readers whom I haven’t named, I’m indebted to you for reading my work. Thank you.

I need a little help. Please mention in the comments the topics you would like me to write on.

You see I’m running out of ideas. A little help will be appreciated.

It’s 1:10 a.m. here and the dogs are barking in the street downstairs. Signing off from Guwahati, India..

Regards,
Subh

10 comments on “A letter to my readers

  1. I think you already know what kind of article I’d like to see but I’m going to repeat it here for others to read to see if we can get any consensus on my thoughts.

    Subh is a mature writer. He uses the English language well and writes passionately. However the articles that really work for me are the ones where I am compelled to write a response. This normally happens if Subh has written something that I either vehemently disagree with or where it strikes such a chord that I completely get where he’s coming from.

    For me these kind of articles are the ones about real issues. ‘Will you marry a raped girl?’ was the first of a few where I felt so moved by the article I had to write a response. There were others but the theme with all of them was any that touched on social, cultural or economic issues.

    I don’t care if dreams can come true. If I want that, I’ll watch a Disney cartoon. If it rains, do I care if your tear-drops fall to the ground? Nope. As an outside observer having lived in India for two years the one thing I cannot deal with is this over-sensitive, schmaltzy emotional crap Indians fill their heads with. Perhaps you guys don’t see it (look at your Bollywood films if you don’t get what I’m saying), but when Subh writes blog posts like that, they don’t stand out, they simply become part of this massive wall of inward-looking, self-indulgent emotional noise.

    What does stand out is how an educated, astute, intelligent 22 year old Indian thinks in this disturbing world we live. It’s a fascinating insight into how a young man compartmentalises the chaos. I like articles that look beyond the self, where Subh looks beyond his personal emotions, and instead towards how he interacts with others. In short, the outward looking articles are far more readable than the inward looking ones. You are writing on the internet now where there are no physical boundaries. You are not just writing for Indians, your audience is world-wide, so think about what they want to read.

    This is your blog and you can write what you want, you don’t need me to tell you that. But your emotional journey is less of an interest to me because that is very personal. It means a lot more to you than it does to me. Maybe your close friends find them interesting but I don’t know you, I have never met you. Instead I feel your talents could be put to better use by writing about ‘real’ issues, your outward-looking journey. Like I said to you recently, you could become a leading authority on issues among young Indians today, and as a foreigner I find that fascinating. Take advantage of your talents and turn them into a unique skill, with your blog as your vehicle and us as your fascinated readers keen to learn more.

    Subh Dasgupta: the new voice of India.

    • Hi Jamie. Thank you for your time and your honest thoughts. Honestly, I’ve been wanting to replicate a post like “Will you marry a raped girl?” for quite sometime now. But I’ve always failed. That’s when I realised that writing is far from a mechanical job. That blog was my raw, angry response to a heinous crime committed against a girl.
      And such things can’t be replicated. With “The great Indian male ego” I’ve tried to hit out at a brand of Indian men that I detest.
      I realise that such kind of writing comes only when you are livid with certain issues.

      However, when you say I can become a trusted mouth piece on genuine indian issues, the vision does excite me.
      I do feel that I have it in me to become that sort of a blogger.
      If I write with the sole purpose of being that kind of a blogger, I don’t know if I’ll lose my touch. We’ll see. I’ll come with those articles from April next year.
      While your views on Indian cinema / touchy feely behaviour might sound a wee bit condescending to other commenters, I understand the stand point from whence you speak.
      But that’s the uniqueness of india. Its a cultural thing. It can’t be changed. Like it or not. Movie making however has a large room for improvement. And better Indian movies are slowly coming up.

      Thanks again!

  2. The minute you start writing from any place other than your heart it won’t be real. I think the “real” issues are what moves you. Sometimes it will be a current event and other times it will be something from your emotions. Although the stats and likes are exciting, don’t let them distract you because somedays the readers will be there and other days there will be silence. No attachment either way! Just continue on. For now write what is important to you. Maybe you will find overtime that your friend Jamie is correct and more people want to read your “issue” blog and not about your emotions (but MAYBE not). If that times comes, you can write two separate blogs. for now – No worries – enjoy!

  3. Subho, As I always tell you: You are a great budding writer. So, this is the time when you should write for yourself – vent out, explore, examine, and then scrutinise your own work. As in, how could you write better to strike the right cord with your “self”.

    Take self feedback and improve on that front. What to write, should be your “own” decision. The day you write to match the taste of others, you shall no more be a writer with open mind and soul. You will write, keeping the taste of your readers in mind!!! What kind of a writer you will be then?? Think!!!

    Writing about emotional surges or low tides feels good and reads good to INdians alone, is a HUGE myth. I wrote about my personal story of struggle in a blogging contest and won it. This win gave me the honour of being my firm’s brand ambassador at the Landon Games 2012!! Interestingly, the people who voted and judged my post were all Americans!!!

    The idea behind telling all this is that honest writing is appreciated worldwide – whether you write about social stigmas or an emotional struggle and an eventual victory. What strikes the chord globally is the truth in your writing. Good going, Shubho. Bless

  4. Sarah says:

    As other commenters said, just write what you love and feel. That’s what brought you to this point in the first place. The more you enjoy your writing, the more willing you’ll be to work on it often and hard.

  5. In my opinion there is no such thing as what you should write about or what you shouldn’t. You write from from your heart and as long as you do that you’re fine.

  6. I’ll always try to do that Allwin – to write from my heart. Thank you! 🙂
    The readers have been kind.

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

