Yes! Dreams do come true!

This midnight, I write with a great sense of pride, happiness, and nostalgia.

My best friend, Seemanta has just accomplished a task of enormous proportions.

My readers don’t know him, but his story has an appeal that’s universal, a beauty that is timeless, and a lesson that’s invaluable.

Here’s what he has achieved : yesterday, he successfully passed out of the prestigious National Defence Academy, the 1st tri-service academy in the world and rated amongst the best in the world.

However, this is not a story of courage and valor. This is a story of belief. A belief so strong in one’s dreams that it overcomes all opposition.

Back in the summer of 2009, he and I had just appeared for High School Final Exams.

Next up, was College. Out of the 200 students of our class, 98% dreamt of going to an Engineering/Medical College.
I was no exception.

But, he was different. He had a dream – of becoming an officer of the prestigious Indian Air Force.
A dream that then sounded ridiculous to us herd-thinkers.
A dream so outrageous that he was scared of letting anyone know.

I was his best friend. But, he kept me in the dark.
Then one day, he told me.
I didn’t know how to react.
My greatest fear was of losing my friend to a profession that was ruthless, to a profession that didn’t have my respect back then. But I supported him.

People used to laugh at him for he was different. He was soft spoken, kind, and a do-gooder. He was exploited because of his good nature.
He was brawny and he liked to help people with tasks that called for physical strength.
This was often exploited.

People looked at his Defence dream with disdain. Today I realise how pathetically short sighted people were.

I loved him to bits. In a way, he filled the male-role model void that I’ve always had.

He was the first person who read my writing, my poems, my first ‘work’. He told me, “You have it in you. Go for it”.

But, I was scared. I was a herd thinker. I had too many reasons to not pursue writing seriously – my lower middle class background, the unstable nature of a writing career, and so on.

So, I tried a safe career. Meanwhile, Seemanta had cleared all the necessary exams to get into NDA. But, he had to settle with Army Wing because of slight problems with his eye sight.

We separated. He went to Academy.
Letters, phonecalls, Facebook became the new way of talking.

In the Academy he found the environment he had dreamt of and he flourished.

Over here, I plummeted in to mediocrity. I didn’t enjoy my stream and failures showed up.
My destiny was somewhere else. But I was adamant. But one can’t fight destiny.

Plagued by failures and disappointment, I embraced writing once again, by starting this blog – an attempt still half hearted.

One year into writing, and today I’m enjoying it. I am happy. I can see a future in writing. Ideas float in my head so easily. This blog is the only successful thing in my life right now.

I’m still to take that one brave decision to accept writing in a full fledged manner.
I promise you, the reader, that I will do it. Soon.
First, I have a chapter to close. One unfinished task to complete. The last remnant of my life of wrong decisions still calls for my attention.

And I will be back to writing after I do it. I’ll let you know soon.

I want this post to be a learning curve to all those who have a dream.
Never, ever, ever let that dream go.

It doesn’t matter if you are young, old, male, female, black, white, brown, or any other color – if you have a dream, go for it.
Dreams do come true.
My best wishes to you all!

It’s 1:14 a.m. Lots of good wishes to all readers. Signing off from Guwahati, India.

19 comments on “Yes! Dreams do come true!

  1. clara_w says:

    Loved this post! I too went for the safe career option, and currently have to juggle the day job with writing, but it’s absolutely worth it!

  2. Thank you Clara!
    Best wishes for your writing career. May you be successful enough to quit the day job one day!

  3. Gilraen says:

    Congratulations to your friend.
    Though your friends achievement is great, your pride and joy in that achievement is really tangible and endearing to read.
    I hope your friend realises that his achievement brought a smile to the face of many who do not know him. Do let him know that.

  4. Hello πŸ™‚
    I have sent him the link, though he’s in deep slumber now. The “Passing Out Parade” was yesterday. And it’s taxing. But he’ll get to this soon.
    I am so proud of him. I am not able to sleep right now. Nostalgia has got the better of me πŸ™‚
    I’m really glad that his success story has brought a smile on my readers’ faces. Good wishes to you πŸ™‚

  5. Aah… This was awe-inspiring. πŸ™‚

    My heartiest to congratulations to Seemanta.

    I am dreaming of writing a post with the same title which tells your story when you publish your first book. πŸ™‚

    Hope my dream comes true soon… πŸ˜€

  6. Monika Bakshi Singh says:

    My best wishes for Seemanta – now, the proud man in olive. I love people who dream. I love people who encourage others to dream. I love myself because I do that. And, now I love you more because you are doing it. God bless your dreams : may they come true, and may you, ind day, write about your success. Soon!!

  7. Jessica says:

    A wonderful post! I fully agree. Never let go of a dream. Congratulations to your friend, and to you for sticking to your blog! I’m sorry I didn’t subscribe sooner. I am now! ^_^

  8. sonikabakshi says:

    Dreams have wings. Really they do! What you need to is to feel the wings and take off. Destiny will only have the best stored up for you. Much love and best wishes. Loved the post completely. πŸ™‚

  9. Thank you!
    It’s such a pleasure to see you here πŸ™‚
    I’m thrilled.

  10. Seemanta Mitra says:

    At the outset I want to thank you for finally fulfilling my long and much awaited request of featuring in a blog written by you.

    On this momentous occasion when I am ‘inflated’ and overwhelmed by all good feelings, there’s this past which I shall not and don;t want to ever forget. THOSE DAYS.

    Those days of doping around, those days of being the odd one out, those days of wise and not so wise conversations, those days of failures and losses, those days of introspection, those days of defeat and dismay, those days of forced happiness, those days which were black, dark and hopeless.

    But today when I look back, I realize that those days were not as black as they seemed back then. The black which was there has flaked off over time and what is left behind is nothing less than pure gold.

    Thank you for being there friend, for being the teacher you were, for showing me how to take the steps…you know what you have done for me. And so do I. I owe you all, mate.

  11. Those days are the basis of who I am today. And guess what, I regret nothing today. Don’t worry, I’ll soon draw the remnant of the proverbial ‘full circle’ of life and we will smile together thinking of 24th Feb, 2009, the day we cried together. Amen to that.

  12. Seemanta Mitra says:

    This is Seemanta to all readers of Shubho’s blog. As he mentioned, “He was the first person who read my writing, my poems, my first β€˜work’. He told me, β€œYou have it in you. Go for it” “. I did exactly that. But being away and with almost nil access, i can’t do it now the way I did it then. Nonetheless, I see that he has flourished. It elates me. Please continue with the support and affection you have showered upon him till now.

    I am sure that one day you’ll emerge out to be one of India’s finest writers. Keep up the good work. And… KEEP DREAMING. Because…..

  13. Anisha Mitra says:

    I can only smile as I fall short of words to express the proud and overwhelming feeling that envelops me today….I have seen and been a part of the journey that you two have undertaken… a journey from which I too am taking strength, as life though simple, makes us learn new lessons every day and at every step…kudos to you both,to one for having emerged successful in the best dream he ever dreamt, and to the other for finally realising where his flair and interests lie and making the effort to turn that dream into reality….
    ……the journey continues….

  14. The journey continues. The stories linger πŸ™‚

  15. Dishi Bora says:

    Loved it very much Subrata…. was searching for NDA stories and here I found a beautiful one. Want to share it in a fb page…. I’ll send you the link.
    I myself a girl from Guwahati and possess a high sense of attachment with Indian defence. Lovely read. Very beautifully you have written….

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

