Why do you read my work?

Someone said to me recently, “Most of your posts are about YOUR personal experiences and end on a sad note, more often than not. I know you personally. So I’ll happily read them all. But why would any random stranger sitting elsewhere in the world read your work? Why would he even care?”.

I had no answer.

These were valid questions thrown at me. And I really didn’t know the answers to them.

They gave me something to think about.

But even after much thought, I couldn’t answer these questions. I felt helpless.

I mean, this IS how I write, and I had never given much thought about it. I had never noticed that there was a certain pattern to it, and now that someone had rightly pointed it out, I was caught off guard.

There is a pattern to my writing. I write about emotions, experiences, life and the likes. This is the only way I can write. I have tried to write satires and other stuff, but somewhere, they have seemed too half-hearted and unconvincing.

So, even now, I don’t have an answer to the question “Why would any random stranger sitting elsewhere in the world read your work? Why would he even care?”.

I’m hoping that you, the esteemed reader, who’s spending the most valuable thing – TIME right now, and reading my post, would help me find the answers.

I want to ask you, “Why do you read my blog? Why do you even care?”.

I would be really grateful to you if you spend just a little more of your time and let me know your thoughts.

6 comments on “Why do you read my work?

  1. It’s always interesting reading the opinions and thoughts of a young person, especially when it is by a person from the country that is currently my home. I do find some of your work quite saccharine, but this is not unique to you, it is just the Indian way. Indians can be unnecessarily emotional at times, which I find quite uncomfortable (and I don’t mean that in a constructive way either, I’m afraid). The difference with your work is that you articulate it well, which makes it easier to digest.

    Why does any random stranger bother to read any story, and why should they care? They care enough to want to inquire about things that are different to their own experiences. For me you help me decipher the Indian way of thinking. It’s a little insight into a world that, despite living in for three years, I still don’t understand. That insight makes it slightly less confusing.

  2. Aah! The saccharine!
    It creeps in quietly, no matter how much I introspect.

    I guess its now in the system, having been brought up on a staple diet of Bollywood, and feel good American movies.

    Till recently, I used complain about it. But, now I embrace it openly. I guess that’s the thing about upbringing and culture – it always leaves a mark upon your work. Whether that’s a good thing or bad, I don’t know.

    For me, its just about keeping the right balance between the saccharine and reality now. Excess of either is bad.

    Glad that my writing helps you decipher the Indian way of thinking!

  3. Man being a social animal craves for interaction with his fellow beings and that’s the reason why you write and why we read your works. There are a number of people out there who just want someone to talk to; someone who would listen to.

    Agreed that most of your posts are your personal experiences and they end on a sad note more often than not but you cannot keep your resentments bottled up. There is a need to pour your heart to someone.

    “Every single soul has a story to tell. And every story must be told…”
    -Subh Dasgupta, How do you respond to criticism? 🙂

    Let me keep it as simple as possible. I read your works because you write well. They are all heartfelt and genuine.

    Six months ago I was only a stranger who happened to stumble upon your blog.

    Why did I even care?

    From there how did we end up being such good friends?

    You know the answers and that very much sums it up.

    Sorry for such a long comment. I hope you don’t mind that.

    P.S. I am so glad that you care so much about the opinion of your readers. Keep up the good work.

    • That’s enlightening! We indeed crave for interaction, and meaningful conversation.

      Its basic human tendency at work here.

      Thank you for your insights. ( I am okay with long comments. More than glad, you may say 🙂 ).

  4. shivprasad says:

    well i suppose i read, to explore oneself. to know how the outer world thinks in. The emotions of every person is different and it may help you to resolve your own. It gives an happiness to keep on searching a right blog made for me, until which makes me satisfied for the day.
    In fact there is no answer for it and i suppose we human beings are made to think in every direction, and i suppose this was one of those.

    nice thoughts keep writing

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

