Four months of FACEBOOK

Its been four months since I, of all the people in the world, decided that it was time that I too had my account on the social networking site FACEBOOK.

It has been a crazy time since then, one thing leading to the other, and pretty soon, I was introduced to the world of blogging.

325 friends and 4months later, today, I’ve sort of realised that I’m sort of a facebook freak by now. The first thing in the morning that I want to do, even before brushing, is to check my account for fresh notifications and messages. I am that sort of a freak.

Through this blogpost of mine, I wish to share some of the home truths I’ve learnt from being on FACEBOOK for four long months.

*Conditions apply.
*Any resemblance with my actual facebook friends is not intentional(!) and I cannot be sued for it.

HOME TRUTHS :

¤AT SOME LEVEL, WE ARE ALL ON FACEBOOK TO FIND LOVE.
I know it sounds crazy . But I know what I’m talking about. Yesterday, I watched the movie THE SOCIAL NETWORK. The movie ends with Mark Zuckerburg sitting with his laptop and sending a friend request to the girl he fancied in College. That, for me, was the essence of the movie, and of facebook. After labouring through the 2hr long movie, I’ve discovered this truth. We are all on facebook to find love.

¤FEW PEOPLE ON FACEBOOK UNDERSTAND THE MEANING OF “ADD TAG”.
Yes, here I go again. I find it a nuisance when I’m tagged in the photo of a teddy bear or a support Anna Hazare campaign photo. Tagging someone in a photo means the photograph also features that person. Few people understand it.

¤GIRLS GET ALL THE LIKES AND THE COMMENTS.
I don’t blame them. They know how to market themselves. First they’ll post a photo of themselves. Mostly girls are good looking. (All those anti aging creams pay some dividends). Then they’ll wait for half an hour. By this time, all the guys in her network would’ve liked and commented on her photo. Then she’ll thank each of them individually through comments. Number of comments doubles up. Mission accomplished. If not this then they’ll put up a status “This afternoon is so dull. Nothing to do. Huh!”. This is invitation enough for the guys in her network. They see opportunity. A bored girl means luck. 50comments in 35minutes.

¤THERE ARE JEALOUS PEOPLE EVEN ON FACEBOOK.
Yes the J-work exists! Even in facebook. These are the pathetic, mean people who have nothing better to do.
Exhibit A : A singer friend of mine posts a photo of her singing on stage. 4comments from guys(she’s a girl). All very favourable comments. Enter jealous girl : her comment “Very nice dear. But the photo is very hazy. Please put a clearer pic”. My question is : ” if she had a clearer pic, wouldn’t have she put it in the first place, eh Einstein?”

¤MOST GIRLS HIDE THEIR AGE, EVEN ON FACEBOOK.
This phenomenon has transgressed all boundaries and entered facebook. Most girls don’t enter the year they were born in. Simply 5th march or 22nd september suffices.

This, is my humble learning, from being on facebook for the last four months. And the most valued lesson that I’ve learnt is :
FACEBOOK CAN’T GIVE YOU A SOCIAL LIFE IF YOU ALREADY DON’T HAVE ONE.

5 comments on “Four months of FACEBOOK

  1. Bonisha Bhattacharyya says:

    “We are all on facebook to find love”

    “Mostly girls are good looking. (All those anti aging creams pay some dividends). Then they’ll wait for half an hour. By this time, all the guys in her network would’ve liked and commented on her photo”

    need i say more on what’s ironic about both the above points?
    Sad.

    • Hmm. . . I see your point. But you see, i’ve started the blog with a disclaimer. So this piece of work, technically speaking , is not a general view of girls or boys. And about the finding love part, it is just something i firmly believe in. I know its quite a bold thing to say. But , its all in good spirit:) 🙂 🙂
      hope u see it as i do.

  2. Bonisha Bhattacharyya says:

    i hope i do 🙂

  3. I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and exposure! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

