Ode to blanket.

It is something we all know very well, we all treasure, we all love. From the cradle to the grave, we all need it at some point of our life. We age, it doesn’t. I’m talking about a BLANKET. Oh! What a wonderful use of cloth and cotton! It is perhaps the most blessed thing you could create out of nature’s fibres. We’ve all had our brushes with the blanket. Who hasn’t, at some point of time, cried under a blanket, or texted sweet nothings to a beloved one from under it, or simply slid under one after a bad day at office, only to slip into a trance??? God bless the blanket! And who can forget reading love letters over and over again under a blanket with the aid of a torchlight. And i was just talking about the fringe benefits of the blanket till now.
Besides, how brilliantly does it perform the task it is assigned to do – provide warmth. Ever wondered how a blanket generates heat? How, within minutes of slipping under one, it quickly transforms from a cold stranger into a familiar warm old friend. Guess? Well it doesn’t generate heat at all – it simply uses your own body heat to keep you warm. Now how smart is that? Ever thought that your body heat can be put to such blessed use?
As we continuously lose ourselves amidst the jungle of ever developing smart phones, iphones, and all those techno-jargon, lets pause for a moment to thank the most used, least remembered piece of cloth ever designed. It doesn’t even require charging like mobile phones .Thank you for the wonderful moments, oh dear blanket. Thank you for giving me that 15min “sleep extension” in your embrace in the mornings when i was forced to get up early by mom to cram for a useless exam. Thank for letting me cry under you after she ditched me. Thank you for your welcoming embrace after my physics exam went wrong every time after school.
I have a lot of stories with my blanket and many reasons to thank it for. How about you? Let me know….

This entry was posted in My take.

8 comments on “Ode to blanket.

  1. Monika Bakshi Singh says:

    Just awesome! 🙂 Specially these lines: ” We’ve all had our brushes with the blanket. Who hasn’t, at some point of time, cried under a blanket, or texted sweet nothings to a beloved one from under it, or simply slid under one after a bad day at office, only to slip into a trance. God bless the blanket! ”

    And… “How within minutes slipping under one, it quickly transforms from a cold stranger into a familiar warm old friend.”

    My goodness, how I loved the thought weaved into a “blanket” of words.

  2. Anisha Mitra says:

    Kudos to u…such a simple but wonderful thing to dwell upon…to let d thoughts flow…
    n guess what…i read this sitting in my bed..my blanket providing me company…

  3. sona agarwal says:

    amazinng!! yup ryt.. its so tru… evry1 has blnket stories… i luv watchin muvies snuggled inside my fvrt blnket which i have been using since i was barely 5 yers old.. my mum has bugged me no end to chnge it , bt i just luv it so much that i cant sleep with ny othr blnket! n its a grr8 help to me wen i am sllepin wth my mom smtyms and i get inside the blnket to txt my frns.. n it evn bloks my voice if i want to tok to ne1 at nyt!!
    luvd it !!

  4. Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any solutions to prevent hackers?

  5. Sorry. Don’t have much info on that. Will research a bit and let you know.

  6. Mitali Das says:

    Well Subh, d credit goes 2 me :-P. Dis is wat i like abt u. Just an hour ago we wer tlkng abt it nd later u just wrote an entire blog on”BLANKET”. Awesm. Loved it :-).

  7. Thanks a lot Mitali 🙂 . But I’m not that good . It was written a year back. Such a happy co-incidence. There’s ‘something’, as I always say.

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

