Leaving home…

I am finally going to leave home at the crack of dawn tomorrow. Agreed – it comes a few years late compared to my friends who did their first degree from other cities. Nevertheless, the day has come. I am stoked. It is a promotion and an enhanced job role that is taking me to a different city.

I am excited to tackle all the challenges that come my way. Honestly, I can’t wait.

leaving-home

I can’t wait to see the house that I shall turn into a home.

But, then again, I am sad, for I am leaving family and love behind. That is a void that no big city or professional success can fill. The people I love the most are not going to be with me. That is a big blow to me.

No matter how much of an “adventurous-and-ready-to-check-out-new-places” guy I seem to be, I am also someone who wilts like a rose in the evening when there’s no one to go back home to, when there’s no one to  watch silly sentimental Bollywood movies with, when there’s no  whose hands I could hold while walking.

What is home without loved ones?

Damn! Why can’t some decisions be easy, like for instance, to be happy or to feel sad?

PS: Happy new year friends!

Image courtesy: www.mendosa.com

12 comments on “Leaving home…

  1. It is not easy that first “going away,” but you will see everyone again for visits or vacations. It is time to start your journey into a new world to discover new things, to grow. You will make friends, in time, who will prove to be your companions. Enjoy the experience.

  2. I can relate to you my friend. I’ve been there. When I was in a similar situation and missed my family badly, a good friend of mine gave me this piece of advice. I thought it was the best piece advice to be given at that point of time.

    “You’ll be fine. You’ll miss your family and thus appreciate them more. You’ll also learn more independence. This is not a bad thing. It is growth. Growing is a part of life. When you stop growing, you start dying. My best wishes to you always, Allwin!!!”

    My best wishes to you, Subh.:)

    Wish you a happy and safe journey.

    P.S. – She is also a good friend of yours. :) Guess who?

  3. HAPPY NEW YEAR & Best Wishes for a new phase of your life :D

  4. Beechmount says:

    Hi Sub

    First, a Happy New Year to you, and it appears that you are already starting it off with some good luck. I also congratulate you on fledging the nest. Now you have to learn to live life without the support of your parents on a daily basis. It is something we all did and you will soon learn to flex your new-found wings and journey into your future. My very best wished to you Sub.

    Grandpa

  5. pseudomonaz says:

    Happy New Year Subh. I was home for holidays and have to leave in 2 days so I can totally relate to your situation. But this is what growing up is all about…right!! Such is life…

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

