The story so far

There was a time I fought with the world. I fought everyday but I could not win.

I complained. I hated all.

The world seemed like an unequal place. I revolted against authority, and followed my heart. Half-hearted efforts yielded little. With my feet in two different boats, the journey was destined to be rocky.

Was I a rebel though? I think I was. A rebel without a cause, then? No! My cause was to prove to them that there existed a different kind of life. I needed to show them there was a life that was much, much better than just safely following the herd. I spoke to them. They were unconvinced. They said I spoke too much and delivered too little. They said I was a loser.

Then, one day, everything changed! I was destined to prove them wrong. I chose a life — no, a life was thrust upon me by my circumstances. Circumstances which at first had seemed hostile to me. I complained. I fought with an imaginary God. I cried.

I asked, “Why me, of all the people in the world?”

My imaginary God smiled and whispered, “Because you are special!”

Days changed into weeks, weeks into months. The curse turned to a boon. And I realised – I was happy. For the first friggin’ time in many many years, I was happy! By jove, that was the only thing that mattered. That happiness and that satisfaction was the only thing in the entire world that mattered to me.

Today, months later, I feel like I have created my own little island of “all that is right” in the vast ocean of “all that is not”.

island
In this island of mine, there is no hatred, no grief, no sadness, no regrets. There’s only happiness and good old fashioned hard work. Like a karma yogi, I work. And the consequent satisfaction is the biggest reward.
The mockers and haters are very far from my island. I don’t need them anymore.

In this island, I am happy. That is the only thing that matters. This is my story so far.

5 comments on “The story so far

  1. I like your island. It’s like an enchantment. If only everyone behaved like they do on your island, the world would be a more peaceful planet.

  2. soumyav says:

    Happier for you and really nice to see you evolving more and more! Best wishes!

  3. pseudomonaz says:

    That sounds like a fairytale… a real one. So happy for you… :)

  4. Beechmount says:

    Hi Sub
    I like your island, but be careful and protect it from invaders. To be happy is one of the most desirable goals in life, but to stay happy, you must focus on the things that make you so. Adversity and disappointments are just as much a part of life as happiness. They will test your character and make you stronger if you face them head on, something I know you can do.

    Cheers from Grandpa

  5. Jessica says:

    Glad to hear it, Subh. I’m happier now than when you met me, too. Something to do with working on myself and meeting someone special… You’re right, though: You don’t need those negative others. The most important part of life is our attitude!

Let me know what you are thinking. . .

